—> Bittersweet Irony <—

write your story

I love irony. I teach about it, I read it, I lash out against it in movies and TV shows, and sometimes I utilize it (cough…I can be a sarcastic Sally…) but when I become it? Ouch…

The first day of school I tell each and every one of my students that they have a story to tell. I get really sentimental and talk to them about how I care about them as individuals and want to know all of their stories. This is absolutely true. I am awed and amazed by the variety of people there are in this world, and I get to witness our similarities and differences acutely as a high school teacher. I have no problem getting up on my soapbox and declaring to my students, “You have something important to say! You have a story to tell!” Then I decide to write a blog.

And

I                             can’t

seem                                               to                                         come                                up

with

anything

“original”                                        to

say.

I marvel at the power of storytelling. I live in it daily. It is one of my life passions. So why on earth am I afraid that I have nothing to say? What would I tell a student who came to me and said, “But Miss, I don’t know what to write.”

“Just start writing. A story will emerge.”

Or, as Dr. Seuss would say, “You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go…”

So that’s what I’m trying to do…

Leave a Reply

